MINUTES State Geographic Information Council Meeting

The State Geographic Information Council met Friday, April 6, 2007 at the Oklahoma Water Resources Board Conference Room, in Oklahoma City, OK. Council Chair Mike Sharp called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. He stated this was a regularly scheduled meeting in compliance with the Open Meeting Law, Title 25 O.S. Sections 301-314. The agenda for this meeting was posted at the front entrance of the meeting room as well as the front entrance to the building. Following the pledge of allegiance, the Council members introduced themselves along with those in the audience. It was determined that a quorum was present.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mike Sharp, OK Conservation Commission Mike Sexton, OK Dept of Commerce David Wheelock, OK Dept of Agriculture Jay Adams, OK Dept of Transportation Mike Sughru, OK Water Resources Board Mike Houts, OK Dept of Environmental Quality Leroy Lage, City Government

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Office of State Finance OK Corporation Commission OK State University

OTHERS PRESENT:

Shellie Willoughby, OK Conservation Commission Leslie Carter, OK One Call Steve Beleu, ODL Scott Roberson, OK Rural Water Association Steve Telford, OK Dept of Transportation Larry Reser, OK Dept of Transportation Todd Fagin, Coordinate Solutions Darryl Williams, USGS Wayne Furr, OK Board of Geographic Names Ray Bottger, ODMHSHS Charles Brady, City of Ardmore Jefferey Myers, Corporation Commission Stephen Mattax, ODAFF Bob Springer, SCI Jane Weber, OK Geological Survey Steve Stadler, State Geographer Wade Patterson, County Assessors Tarek Rashed, Center for Spatial Analysis Troy Frazier, OK Tax Commission Trish Weedn, OARC

Regional Universities of Oklahoma OK Office of Homeland Security OK Dept of Wildlife Conservation

Dan Hough, OK Biological Survey Eric Jones, SCI Kathy Hines, Center for Spatial Analysis Katy Rich, OK State Dept of Health Leroy Tackett, OK Dept of Transportation Thomas Tollett, CPN Peggy Stoller, ACOG Michael Larson, OSU Miriam McGaugh, OK State Dept of Health Jun Gao, City of Stillwater Tricia Billingsley, Corporation Commission Sohail Hasanjee, OK Dept of Commerce Imad Mrami, OK State Dept of Health

4. Approval of February Meeting Minutes

Wade Patterson made a motion to approve the minutes. Jane Weber seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Committee/Workgroup Updates

Mike Sughru updated the Council members on the job description workgroup. Questions concerning the job descriptions were discussed and addressed. Updated descriptions will be sent out and comments should be sent to Mike Sughru. Council members were urged to prepare a letter to OPM supporting these new job descriptions. Letters are to be submitted to Mike Sughru to be included in the material sent to OPM.

6. "Names across Oklahoma: an Introduction to the Official Naming Process" by Wayne Furr, Oklahoma Board on Geographic Names

7. GIS Discussion / Data Issues

Mike Sharp discussed the NSGIC Mid Year Meeting with the Council members. Mike Sharp informed the Council members that letters had been sent to the House and Senate Committee members concerning our recently completed Strategic Plan. Copies of the Strategic Plan were also sent with the letters.

8. New Business

No new business.

9. Announcements

SCAUG Regional Conference: April 9 -13, 2007 New Orleans, LA

11. Next Council Meeting

The next meeting will be held May 4, 2007 at 10:30 a.m.

12. Adjourn

The motion was made to adjourn by Jay Adams and seconded by Wade Patterson. The meeting adjourned at 12:30 pm.